Bob's Photography Website

A photograph is usually looked at - seldom looked into.  ~  Ansel Adams

HOME  | Contact  |  Ed. Programs  |  Galleries Lightroom  |  Links  |  Photographic Areas  | Smartphones | Tips  |  Training

National Scenic Areas

Multnomah Falls

The National Scenic Area Act designated for special protection 292,500 acres on both sides of the Columbia from the outskirts of Portland-Vancouver in the west to the semi-arid regions of Wasco and Klickitat counties in the east. The National Scenic Area is categorized into three areas: Special Management Areas, General Management Areas and Urban Areas.

One thing that differentiates the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area from national parks and monuments is land ownership, as nearly half of the lands in the Scenic Area are in private ownership.

Since the Scenic Area was created, developments and new land uses have been reviewed in the Scenic Area. Development is occurring but in a controlled framework that protects the very resources that make the Scenic Area so special.



HOME  | Contact  |  Ed. Programs  |  Galleries  |  Lightroom  |  Links  |  Photographic Areas | SmartphonesTips  |  Training

Bob Spalding
(864) 430-0119
Copyrighted Spalding Services 2020